e-mail Print Share


The ADA Foundation uses research to improve the oral health of the public and advance the science of dentistry through collaborations with government, industry and the dental profession. Please see the below program descriptions and guidelines for complete information, and check this website for updates.

Research is one of the four pillars of the ADA Foundation. The other pillars are Charitable AssistanceAccess to Care, and Education.

Visit the Dr. Anthony Volpe Research Center page on this website.

Colgate Dental Students’ Conference on Research

Purpose: Each year, the ADA Foundation hosts the Colgate Dental Students' Conference on Research in Gaithersburg, Maryland, drawing select students from more than 50 schools in the U.S. and Canada. The goal of this conference is to introduce dental students to industry professionals, as well as scientists from the ADA, the National Institutes of Health (NIH) - National Institute of Dental and Craniofacial Research, and the ADA Foundation's Dr. Anthony Volpe Research Center to raise their awareness of the wide-ranging careers available in oral health research.

Application Period: The application period opened in April, 2016.

Eligibility Requirements: The Colgate Dental Students’ Conference on Research welcomes one student representative from each dental school in the U.S. and Canada who has not previously attended the program. This student representative is typically selected by the school’s Dean, and is someone who is either actively involved in a research project or has expressed an interest in a research career. Space is limited. Priority is given to new students who have not previously experienced the program.

Dollar Amount of Support to Attendees: Student attendees are fully funded by the ADA Foundation except for a $600 contribution made by each student's school.

Summer Scholars Fellowship Program

Purpose: The Dr. Anthony Volpe Research Center annually appoints one or two young investigators to its Summer Scholars Fellowship Program. Since its inception in 1940, the program has been a way to apply classroom and lab experience to real world scenarios. Currently supported by the ADA Foundation and the National Institutes of Health (NIH), the program has given many talented students (undergraduate and dental school) the chance to participate in basic research at the VRC, as well as gain hands-on experience in the clinical theater; working side-by-side with their mentors, while becoming part of the research process.

Application Period: The application period will open in late December, 2015 and usually closes in late January. Please email vrc@ada.org for information.

Eligibility: Individuals interested in learning more about the program or application process are invited to contact the Summer Scholars Fellowship Program coordinator, Gretchen Duppins at gretchen.duppins@nist.gov.

Dollar Amount and Number of Fellowships: Varies

Dr. Ray Bowen Student Research Award

To Apply: Complete the online Dr. Ray Bowen Student Research Award application here (use this worksheet to prepare). You will be taken to a third party website to complete the application.

Purpose: The ADA Foundation offers the Dr. Ray Bowen Student Research Award in odd-numbered years in collaboration with the Academy of Operative Dentistry. This student research award honors Dr. Ray Bowen, the inventor of resin composites and dentin adhesives, and an internationally recognized authority on composite materials. Dr. Bowen is a former Director of the ADA Foundation's Paffenbarger Research Center and is presently active as Distinguished Scientist at the research center on the campus of the National Institute of Standards and Technology.

Application Period: The application period is open. Applications are due by 11:59 p.m. CDT on Thursday, December 1, 2016.

Eligibility: The award is open to dental students at all levels who wish to undertake novel research relevant to contemporary operative dentistry.

Dollar Amount and Number of Awards: The award is presented every two years and provides $6,000 to support the proposed research and up to $1,000 to defray the cost of the winner's attendance at the Academy of Operative Dentistry's scientific session to present a table clinic based on the proposed research.

Intel® International Science and Engineering Fair® – Special Awards

2015 Intel ISEF ADA Foundation Special Award winners:

  • First Award ($2,000): Timothy James Fossum Renier, Senior, East High School, Duluth, Minnesota, for his project "The Development of an Inexpensive Hand Hygiene Monitoring System with a Raspberry Pi Computer: Applications for Healthcare and Beyond"
  • Second Award ($1,000): Aditya Tushar Mohile, Senior, Friendswood High School, Friendswood, Texas, for his project "Computer-Aided Oral Cancer Diagnosis"
  • Third Award ($500): Yoojin Ahn, HyeRim Eam, and Suyeon Lee of South Korea, for their team project "Oral Antimicrobial Effect Using Eco-Friendly Substances"

Purpose: The ADA Foundation is a Special Award Organization sponsor for the annual Intel International Science and Engineering Fair, a partnership between Society for Science & the Public and the Intel Foundation, through which students in the ninth through twelfth grades can win a variety of prizes including scholarships, summer internships, equipment grants and trips.

Application Period: Winners are selected from among those presenting during the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair, by judges appointed by the ADA Foundation.

Eligibility: The Award is open to any student who is presenting during the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair.

Dollar Amount and Number of Awards: The ADA Foundation provides cash prizes totaling $3,500 for outstanding projects related to dentistry and oral health – one first-place award valued at $2,000; one second-place award valued at $1,000; and one third-place award valued at $500.

The winners of the ADA Foundation’s Special Awards at the 2014 Intel International Science and Engineering Fair are:

Terry Gwen Ni, Boston Latin School, Boston, MA
First Award - $2,000
“Development of in vitro Multispecies Biofilms with Hydroxyapatite and Artificial Saliva”

Shraddha Rathod, North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics, Durham, NC
Second Award - $1,000
“The Antimicrobial Efficacy of Nitric Oxide based on Release Rate from Mesoporous Silica Nanoparticles on A. actinomycetemcomitans and S. mutans”

Karishma Sunil Patel, Grants High School, Grants, NM
Third Award - $500
“Killed by Sweetness”


Download this 20-page brochure and read more about the Dr. Anthony Volpe Research Center. Read more.